Happy New Year and Introducing a Series of New Blog Posts

Happy New Year everyone! I hope this year will bring you plenty of health, wealth, happiness, and success. Like most of the seniors in our club, I am beginning my 2017 by finishing up my graduate school applications. It’s been quite the experience. Have you guys ever heard of a Rube Goldberg machine? It’s a type of silly invention that takes a very easy task – say, turning the page of a newspaper – and finds a ridiculously complicated, multi-step way to achieve it. Well, the applications process is kind of like one of these machines. It takes the simple task of applying to a school and turns it into a long, complicated, multi-step ordeal. Perhaps applying to colleges for undergrad was a similar experience, and I just missed out because I only applied to Rutgers? Regardless, now that I am nearly done with this difficult task, I have amassed a multitude of tips to help the next batch of graduate applicants out! I present to you, my project for the month of January: The Grad School Application Tips and Timetable. Each day from now until next Friday, I will write a post about one step in the graduate applications process. These will be written in a somewhat chronological order of steps (you should definitely choose the schools you apply to before starting to write your personal statement, for example). To make this slightly more entertaining for you, I will be turning it into a story, in which our hero, Sir Stu Dent of Rutgers University, must go on a daring quest to complete his grad school applications. Don’t worry if you aren’t much of a reader though, because there will be a googledoc at the end with a neat, color-coded checklist that you can use. Stay tuned for tomorrow’s post, in which our hero will begin his journey.

